Till we meet again


After so many postponements and delays, my gang of college friends finally found the time to see each other again. It’s been four months since our last get-together, the highlight of which was a friend’s life event that shocked us all. We planned another get-together in late July–in honor of the July-August birthday celebrants but it didn’t materialize again. Only yesterday it did.

Only five of us made it, though. But we had some honorary gang-members with us. MJ brought her partner and two kids with her because she was also one of the birthday celebrants, along with V and me.

Whenever we had a get-together, V and I would always travel with E because we lived close to each other. However, because E couldn’t make it yesterday, V and I took a cab to MOA and arrived there much earlier than the appointed time. It gave us a chance to look around–something that we didn’t do on previous visits to MOA because we’d always arrive in the nick of time, hence no chance to look around. I showed V my favorite shop for cute things Japanese (Muji) and then we browsed the latest CDs and DVDs at another shop.

We had a bit of a time looking for Yakimix, but were fortunate enough to have ourselves listed among the first 20. We waited for just a few minutes before MJ, EV, and M joined us. And then we were finally let in. I myself had a good time grilling seafood and meats on the stove top on our table–though I wasn’t able to return to the buffet table because I got seated at the end of the table. I relied on V and M to feed me like a baby bird (ha-ha!).

Nevertheless, I think I got my fill. While eating, I updated them on the events in our alumni association–how I was attacked by the older members for my almost non-stop comments on the officer’s questionable actions. I’d been labeled rude, un-professional, and arrogant by other members of the association for speaking my mind, asking questions, and making suggestions. This view was not shared by my other batch-mates, who sorta defended my actions. So what happened? The President and her midnight appointees resigned en masse, dramatically blaming me for their action. My friends and batch-mates joked about my ‘power’ but I only told them what I believed: that the truth will always prevail.

After our heavy lunch, we walked to Krispy Kreme for some coffee. I tried their new kruffin flavor (carrot & pecan). I also went to Book Sale and was pleasantly surprised to find the complete His Dark Materials Trilogy by Philip Pullman. I immediately got it; it was a hundred bucks per book. Another book find was Noel Alumit’s Letters to Montgomery Clift–a hundred bucks as well. Another highlight for me: MV, my god-daughter, got me a Yabang Cup!

As we were having coffee, we planned to meet again in 3 weeks, because two other friends were celebrating their birthdays in October. This planning, I sensed, was more forceful, more determined–probably because in the last years, we only saw each other 2 or 3 times a year only. Of course, this was not intended. But all of us are busy with our own lives, I guess. Many of them have growing children, careers, and families to manage. We try. But yesterday I felt that we should all try harder.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on October 1, 2012, in journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

