SBD by The Sexy Chef


I had my first experience with the South Beach Diet (SBD) in 2010, when I was still in Cambodia. My chef friend prepared the food for me–through guesswork and crafty ingredient substitution–and I remembered losing a lot during the 2 weeks I was on Phase 1. However, instead of transitioning to Phase 2, I reverted to my previous diet and stopped exercising altogether so I gained back what I lost, plus more. Looking back, I believe my depression was getting the best of me that time.

Now, I counted on the South Beach Diet again to jump-start my weight loss. Before that I had been keeping a food diary, exercising portion control on my own but I thought I needed a proper, almost-scientific way to start.

I signed up for a two-week Phase 1 South Beach Diet with The Sexy Chef (TSC), a food delivery service company co-owned by singer Rachel Alejandro. I considered another company, whose service was cheaper than TSC’s but I ended up signing with TSC because (1) their office is closer to where I live (less travel time for my food means it will reach me faster & fresher); and (2) their menu was more promising (3 full meals, 2 snacks, and a dessert).

So, how did it go? Generally speaking, I can say that my experience with TSC has been positive. The service was efficient, deliveries were on time, the delivery boys were polite, and the customer service was accommodating (I only communicated with them through email).

When it came to the food, it was almost perfect! To be fair, I think it’s impossible for any food planning service to gain a perfect score because individuals have their own preferences when it comes to food. In rating the food that I had while on SBD Phase 1, I decided not to label them “best and worst” but instead “like and dislike”. My ratings were based on taste, presentation, and probably my mood at the time I ate them!

Breakfast like: it’s a toss-up between the Grilled Bangus w/ Scrambled Egg and the Mushroom & Cheese Omelette, but this one I liked most: the Cheesy Veggie Bake! My unlike: the Shrimp Cauli “Rice”

Cheesy Veggie Bake

Lunch like: the Shrimp Pesto & Cauliflower Medley is a serious contender but I’m going to give it to the Chicken Burger & Salad w/ Creamy Sesame Dressing! My unlike: Chicken Satay w/ Cauliflower Chickpea Curry.

Chicken Burger & Salad w/ Creamy Sesame Dressing

Dinner like: the Chicken Fajitas & Vegan Chilli and Beef Salpicao w/ Garlic Mushrooms were really good but the one I liked most was the Garlic Squid w/ Mixed Veggies! My unlike: the Chicken Adobo & Monggo Soup.

Garlic Squid & Mixed Veggies

Snack like: I have never really featured the snacks & dessert in this blog but the ones I really liked were the Patties (Chicken & Tuna). The ones I didn’t? Walnuts and the veggie crudites (though I loved the Hummus).

Dessert like: I love vanilla so my desserts would be the vanilla pudding and the vanilla cream. My unlike: coffee custard and ube pudding.

Now, after reviewing the service, the food, the last thing–and probably the most important basis of my review–I need to review is the result. Did I achieve my goal of jump-starting my weight loss?

Well, I’m pleased to say that I lost 18 lbs (8.12 kg) following the Phase 1 SBD of The Sexy Chef! I feel lighter and better. And, 3 days into my Phase 2, I don’t feel the craving for the unhealthy stuff I used to engorge on. This is important and, truth to tell, at first I had doubts. Only because the food seemed too tasty for the kind of SBD food that I recalled.

If you want to try The Sexy Chef, you can find them HERE.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on October 17, 2012, in review and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

