Promoting myself


To generate buzz on my e-books, I decided to distribute a free e-book to readers who might be convinced to purchase my for-sale e-books. So I dug up an old story, which got published in Mirror Magazine in 1999 (if I remember correctly) and formatted it for Kindle and Smashwords. This story is, coincidentally, part of my second short story collection, which I hope to publish the traditional way here in the Philippines.

Unfortunately, Kindle DP does not allow free pricing for its e-books so I opted for the lowest price possible–which is 99 cents. Apparently, once they find out that an e-book is free in other stores, that’s only when they will allow said e-book to be free. So in Smashwords I chose the free option. Sooner or later, I hope the Kindle Store catches up and give my e-book for free.

After a day at Smashwords, The Loudest Unspoken has been downloaded 14 times. I have received 1 positive feedback from a colleague–though she hasn’t gone back to the website to post her feedback officially. I hope the Kindle Store catches up soon. And I hope this marketing strategy works, too. Curious, just follow the link above to get your free e-book. Enjoy reading it and please post a feedback or review on the site, if you can. It’d be greatly appreciated!

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on October 19, 2012, in journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

