New new books


Since coming back to the Philippines, I hadn’t bought a single new book. One of the casualties from my protracted battle with depression was my financial independence. I hadn’t really worked in the last couple of years, other than to do small projects. Hence, I have no spare money to spend on new books. The operative word here is “new”.

I still manage to get books, but these are second-hand–or as they call them these days, pre-loved. I became a regular customer of Booksale, which in the past has also been my source for for rare gay books and other out-of-print treasures. Just be prepared to dig in and look hard and there are great finds to be found.

Like the complete ‘His Dark Materials’ Trilogy, which I got from Booksale MOA for less than 300 pesos.

Or this leather-bound and boxed 50th Anniversary Edition of the ‘Lord of the Rings’ trilogy in one volume, from Booksale SM San Lazaro for about 400 pesos.

Lately, though, I feel blessed that I got not just one but a couple of brand new books without spending a single centavo.

I had written about the book I got from Jessica Zafra. I’m halfway done with it. I like the story: it shows the decline of America through the life of a middle-aged man whose professional and personal lives are gasping for its final breath.

The second book is a gift from another famous writer, who instructed us on the foundations of story-telling. The three days of the workshop filled me with valuable insights on this new road that I’m about to take in my own professional life. This is his own book, and I’m looking forward to reading it soon.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on November 13, 2012, in journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

