For Joyce


We’ve been colleagues in development work for a long time, but it wasn’t until 2003 that we became close friends. And such a loyal and honest friend she is. Unfortunately, as I made my way back to the Philippines in 2010, she was on her way to Canada to start a new life. We both are travelers whose paths rarely cross but it doesn’t in any way diminish our friendship. I wrote this poem while still in Cambodia and I asked a mutual friend to read this on my behalf on Joyce’s send-off party. I am posting this now at Joyce’s request.

 

If we were at Treehouse now 

 

Maybe tonight when you’re done

Celebrating, after the last of post-prandial

Conversations have been exchanged,

The night will forget decorum

And reveal the profound sadness

I am keeping inside my heart,

Because you’re leaving. It is an arrow

Embedded in the flesh, much like the stories

We have shared through the years–

Tales of joy and grief, the love we gave

But didn’t always get back, as we made

Separate but parallel journeys in life.

But perhaps, more than the stories,

What we really have in common

Is this wanderlust, the need to remain

In constant motion. So this departure,

Being just one of the many,

Shouldn’t cause me trouble, but

It does and what can I do?

The fire that consumes our hearts

Is the same, lighting up the evening sky

In the city I’m also preparing to leave.

The whole world is before us, my friend,

And I miss the times we are together,

Weaving such stories of our lives.

As you make this yet another journey,

Remember to look at the sky,

Know that no matter how far off you go

I will always be within reach.

 

 

Phnom Penh, 2010

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on December 17, 2012, in poetics and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

