My Senators


I am weaning the senatorial candidates by elimination. My first filter is their stand on the RH Bill. However, this is not entirely based on the final vote but largely on their stand as the bill–in its many incarnations–languished in congress and in the senate the last 14 years. So for me the final reading vote is not enough. I can spot a leverage vote from miles away. My next two filters are the dynasty factor and the reputation quotient. The dynasty factor, I will admit, is a bit tenuous because there are candidates from political families that have my vote. As for the reputation quotient, any whiff of wrongdoing or misconduct and any accusation of such is bound to negatively affect a candidate’s suitability, in my view.

The next is track record, which for me means experience, not just in legislation and in public service but service in general. It could be a profession, or a business. Is the candidate ethical and fair when conducting his profession and business? My last filter, which can possibly trump the other filters is the trust effect. Does the candidate make me cringe when he speaks about his candidacy or his platform? Or does s/he arouse feelings of trust and sincerity?

So after going through this process of filtration and elimination, I am happy to share that the first candidate to pass muster the process is, RISA HONTIVEROS!

Risa Hontiveros

Risa Hontiveros

I’ve been following her career since her Akbayan days. I am neither member nor staff of Akbayan but it is very close to my heart. In fact, before Ang Ladlad, my partylist choice was Akbayan. I voted for Risa in the 2010 elections and I felt bad when she didn’t make it. I hope she does this time.

My only wish for her? Please stop taking swipes at the UNA candidates. We all know that they’re bringing nothing to the table aside from their trapo-ness. So please don’t dignify their existence by pointing out the things we already know. I believe you can win this election by your own merits and not by making others look bad.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on February 13, 2013, in events and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

