And now, back to normal programming


My short engagement with a UN Agency ended last week. My new-found friends in the organization gave a me a send-off lunch at one of the better restaurants close to the office, which I wrote about HERE. I knew that the Staff Union was organizing a merienda cena of some sort in honor of me. I knew this because they did the same thing to another colleague/ friend whose contract ended a couple of weeks before mine did.

the ladies who lunch

the ladies who lunch

I’d like to say that I always avoided soirees, especially in my honor, like the plague but truthfully, this is not always the case with me. This aversion to things social is, I believe, a remnant of my depression. A persistent remnant, I must say, but it is not an indicator of my emotional well-being. Pre-depression era, I liked going to parties, but not too much. If said party is in my honor, it’s fine. Lately though (as in the last three years), not so much.

Nevertheless, I am deeply grateful to the Staff Union for making me part of their activities. Please accept my apology for ditching that send-off party in favor of a quiet afternoon with my family.

Yesterday, I felt a little disoriented when I woke up early in the morning and realized I didn’t need to rise that early because I didn’t have to go to work. So I slept again and didn’t get out of bed until 8AM. Yesterday felt like a long weekend, even if I felt unwell the whole day and slept through my nausea and malaise.

And today, I am spending the morning as if in a daze. The only conscious things I am doing are posting photos on Facebook and writing this blog post, which I hope I am doing well enough. I have eaten a bit; my queasiness remains–abetted by keeping a piece of hard candy in my mouth.

My agenda for the next months is attending to my personal writing projects in between freelance work. Wish me luck, would you?

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on July 23, 2013, in journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Best of luck dear! Na mimiss na ulit kita. Pwede na ba kitang kaladkarin? 🙂

Leave a Reply

