I should be so lucky


Joining raffles was a lucrative past time for my mother and I. I was 8 years old (1981) when we won in a raffle sponsored by Colgate. The prize was a consolation prize that amounted to a hundred pesos however, my name was drawn twice to we received two hundred pesos. Unfortunately, the check got lost inside our house then in Bulacan. Two years later I won again, this time in a raffle sponsored by Alaska. Our entries were mostly wrappers of Alaska’s Condensed Milk, which my grandmother was using for making yema. It was a third prize that amounted to PhP2,000.00.

However, I won my biggest prize when I was 13 years old. It was a raffle sponsored by the cigarette brands Hope & More. When I was my winning entry–it was a bed-raggled wrapper, which I remember we found on the street as we were walking home from church.

It wasn’t the first prize–just the fourth prize, but it amounted to PhP100,000.00. I was the youngest winner and the company couldn’t use me for publicity because clearly I wasn’t a smoker. Even if I were indeed a smoker, they wouldn’t be able to use me either, I think. In their next raffle, they imposed an age limit of 18 years as eligibility to join.

Years would pass before this win was followed. I won a PhP10,000.00 prize found under the crown of a bottle of Coca-Cola in 1998. But I was always un-lucky when it came to raffles in office Christmas parties. In all the years that I’ve worked, I have never won. Not even once.

Yesterday, as my aunt and I wrapped up the transactions in the purchase of a new refrigerator, we were given a sheaf of raffle tickets for a raffle of the appliance center. And we had to accomplish all entries because yesterday was the last day for dropping the entries. So we spent almost an hour writing, sipping coffee from Country Style as we worked. That was the longest time I wrote by hand. If we win, it will be a nice reward for our effort.

Wish us luck?

the tickets

the tickets

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on August 1, 2013, in journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

