Talk of Orchids


Last Friday, instead of mining my hard drive for a photo to share, I went to the Orchid Show at the Quezon Memorial Circle with a friend. It was my first time to go to a plant show and my first time to go to the Quezon Memorial Circle. I was surprised on both counts but the oppressive heat burned away all my first impressions of the place and of the event.

I plan to return on the last stretch of the show because my friend told me prices tend to go down towards the end of the show. After then I hope to be able to share more than this photo.

2013 orchid show-01

some of the exhibits

Knowing that thing about prices, however, did not prevent me from buying a few things for the orchid/ tillandsia garden that I am building. I also bought some herbs, which I’ve been trying to cultivate again since coming back to Manila. I got mint, basil, thyme, and rosemary. I’m happy to report that 5 days later, all of them seem to be doing well.

Last Saturday, I was surprised when I saw that my unknown orchid finally boomed after years of inactivity. I saw the buds as I was watering them and I am awaiting what they look like so I can identify them. It’s an oncidium of some kind but the flowers will make identifying them easier. I remember it came from Bicol, brought to Manila by a relative.

waiting for the bloom

waiting for the bloom

Definitely something to look forward to, right?

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 4, 2013, in events, journal and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What’s a tillandsia? That’s the best about orchids that you pick up on the way, given or stolen hahaha. . . you will never know what their flowers are till they bloom. Were you with Uly? Mag Centris naman tayo one of these days. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

