Now happening: Cut-Price Book Sale


National Book Store’s yearly book sale started on August 30. Discounts are up to 70% so if you like books go now and get some!

cutprice booksale poster

Here are some of my finds:

cutprice booksale find - 01

Joe Hill’s ‘Heart-Shaped Box’ with 70% off. Joe Hill is the son of Stephen King so I’m curious to read his book, if only to see if he’s as good as his father (or better).

cutprice booksale find - 02

Elizabeth Kostova’s ‘The Historian’, again with 70% discount. I read this book in 2005, which a friend lent to me. This is a different take on the myth of Dracula. Promise, this book is truly unnerving and scary.

cutprice booksale find - 03

Books 2 and 5-7 of the Sookie Stackhouse novels by Charlaine Harris at 70% off a piece. Because I watch True Blood regularly, I never bothered to read any of the books in the series (which capped at an outstanding 13 books). Now that HBO had announced that the 7th season of True Blood is the last in the TV series, I’m more inclined to read the books.

All of these books came from NBS at SM San Lazaro. I think I should see other NBS outlets. Who knows, I might be able to complete the Stackhouse books through the book sale, which ends tomorrow, by the way.

Wish me luck!

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 7, 2013, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

