Post Mortem: MIBF 2013


The first time I went to the Manila Book Fair was more than 15 years ago. The venue was the PICC, I think. I remember I didn’t return the next year. And the one after. Since coming back to Manila 3 years ago, this is the first time that I went. I had forgotten why I didn’t do so for such a long time so last Friday, I hauled my friend to go there. This year’s venue was the SMX Convention Center close to SM Mall of Asia; a gargantuan exhibition hall roughly about the size of 20 basketball courts. Thankfully, its centralized air-conditioning worked perfectly. I hardly broke a sweat as we walked along the aisles, browsed through piles of books and what-nots, and jostled for space among the other attendees.

About 4 hours later, my friend and I finally sat for coffee and pastries. We were both ready to go home. Looking at our shopping bags, I suddenly remembered the reason for my rare attendance in book fairs. My wallet is reveling in its new-found lightness.

Don’t get me wrong. I am quite happy with my finds in the book fair. But you need to know that since 2010, 90% of my books came from Booksale. 6% came from contests I won or gifts I received. My purchases make up the teeny-tiny rest of this pie. I feel like I did my Christmas shopping already!

But what wonderful things I got:

Ang Bonggang-Bonggang Batang Beki by Rhandee Garlitos

Ang Bonggang-Bonggang Batang Beki by Rhandee Garlitos from Vibal Publishing

This new book, treading new paths in Filipino children’s literature.

2013 MIBF Loot 02

book packs from Adarna Books

Christmas gifts of books for the children in my family. Luv the bayong, too!

Breakdowns by Art Speigelman

Breakdowns by Art Speigelman from Fully Booked

Dirty comics, anyone?

Song of Ice & Fire Books 1 & 2 by George RR Martin

Song of Ice & Fire Books 1 & 2 by George RR Martin from National BookStore

Two of the hardest “Song of Fire & Ice” titles to find.

Chorva Pads from Tahanan Books

Chorva Pads from Tahanan Books

Some wacky stationery, perfect for gift-giving also.

Leonor Rivera bag from Tahanan Books

Leonor Rivera bag from Tahanan Books

The tote bag of my dreams. Not really. But it’s a great alternative to my dream bag.

The 34th Manila International Book Fair is still on today, at the SMX Convention Center at the SM Mall of Asia Complex. It’s open from 10AM to 8PM.

 

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 15, 2013, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

