Oh Em Janice!


I am not one to participate in any TV-based text promotion or voting but I found myself compromising this stance since I saw this lady’s blind audition performance in ‘The Voice of the Philippines’. See what I mean below.

Isn’t she great? She got the Aretha Franklin vibe to a T and her voice is pure beauty. She’s also humble and self-effacing. As the weeks went by I saw her as her self-confidence increased. She was able to blurt out convincingly that ‘her time has come’. And for the first time, I voted through SMS. Seeing her show her singing range made me think that she deserves a worldwide audience.

And in last Sunday’s show, Janice Javier again took the stage by storm with her glorious rendition of ‘Imagine’. The arrangement seems to have been tailor-made for Ms Franklin (though I couldn’t find anything on YouTube of Aretha singing Imagine) but Janice owned every note of that song. This performance took her to the final round, which will happen next weekend. See for yourself:

About 12 hours later, I was still thinking of that song. So did another first. I downloaded her song from iTunes. In my opinion, the live performance was better than the studio version. I just wish the live version is available on iTunes as well. I’d gladly download it.

In the meantime, I will get ready to vote for her on finals night (because my other bet Radha didn’t make it to the finals). Go Janice!

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 25, 2013, in events, journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Go Klarisse.hehehe betting for Klang Klang:)

  2. actually, between Klarisse and Morissette, kay Klarisse ako… like ko rin sya pero mas bet ko si Janice 🙂

Leave a Reply

