Del Toro No Los Simpsons


Last night I watched Guillermo Del Toro’s ‘Pacific Rim’ for the first time at home. I saw it at the cinema twice but my cousin was able to download an excellent copy of the movie so I decided to watch it again. I liked watching the downloaded because it allowed me to fully enjoy the visual effects and gags that might have eluded me in the cinema.

I adore Guillermo Del Toro’s aesthetics and ‘Pacific Rim’ is a feast of his visual flourishes. I was able to relish the awesome grace of the monsters and the technical workings of the giant robots. Watching it again has grown my liking for the film; I just wish it earned more in the box-office so they can make a sequel already.

I also discovered in YouTube that Mr Del Toro directed the opening sequence of The Simpsons’ Halloween episode, AKA the 24th Treehouse of Horror. The sequence is longer than the usual, but all the supernatural, movies and Del Toro-directed films references are a glorious sight to behold. See if you can spot them all!

Watch the video below:

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on October 6, 2013, in journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

