2013 in Books


I was influenced by a popular blog that I’m following to share the books I read this past year. But unlike her none of the books that I read this year was published in 2013. Because I don’t have new books unless they’re gifts or prizes. I do have “Doctor Sleep” by Stephen King in my Kindle; but I didn’t buy it and more importantly, I haven’t finished reading it yet so it doesn’t appear in the list.

2013 books

Here they are, in no particular order:

  • THE WHITE HOTEL by D.M. Thomas – experimental in form, and strangely erotic.
  • BEFORE NIGHT FALLS by Reinaldo Arenas – I saw the film years ago; I liked the film. The book is better, and an inspiration in writing creative non-fiction.
  • HEART-SHAPED BOX by Joe Hill – a ghost story from Stephen King’s son. The apple didn’t fall far from the tree.
  • BOY MEETS BOY by David Levithan – a young adult gay romance novel set in a gay-friendly high school in a gay-friendly small town in the States. Too perky for me, but I like the use of the romance novel formula on two male characters.
  • CALL ME BY YOUR NAME by Andre Aciman – hay, summer love! I reviewed this HERE.
  • THE STRAIN TRILOGY (The Strain, The Fall, and The Night Eternal) by Guillermo Del Toro & Chuck Hogan – vampires are given the Del Toro treatment and I kept on imagining the reaper vampires of “Blade II”, which Del Toro helmed. Very entertaining, in spite of some really clunky writing.
  • MONSTRESS by Lysley Tenorio – great samples of the short story form. I also reviewed it HERE.
  • A HOLOGRAM FOR THE KING by Dave Eggers – a clever, likeable, entertaining, and ultimately sad novel of real people getting lost in an increasingly virtual world. I just read that Tom Hanks will produce and star in the film adaptation, written and directed by Tom Tykwer (Cloud Atlas).
  • THE GAY METROPOLIS by Charles Kaiser – a well-written chronicle of gay life in the States from 1940-1996. It tells the amazing story of how gays & lesbians transformed their social status–overcoming religious prejudice, medical malpractice, and political persecution in just half a century. Recommended for young LGBTs who have no sense of history.

I can only hope to read more in 2014.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on December 26, 2013, in journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

