2013 in Review


2013 was supposedly an auspicious year for me and I must say that I can’t really disagree. This year has truly been a journey for me, as I was making my way back into my old self, but not necessarily my old life. This year has been one of rediscovering my strengths and limitations, of reconnecting with people from my past, and of recognizing the differences between having everything and being content with what I have.

2014

I started the year on a high note, career-wise, as I was writing for a popular television show, although by the middle of January my heart & mind were both brewing with a growing feeling that my creative energies can be put to good use somewhere else.Β By the start of the second quarter I was back in the non-profit sector, working in the AIDS field. Although it was a relatively short stint, this post re-introduced me to the sector which I left back in 2004.

I focused the second half of the year in my personal writing projects. My short stories and poems got published in magazines. My poems got anthologized in 2 literary publications. My story for children got a step closer to publication. And I got into a writing workshop under a popular literary & pop culture figure, which will hopefully result in the completion of a book project that’s been on my mind for more than 2 years.

Also, late this year, I partnered with a friend and started a tote bag business but as luck would have it, he passed away just after our first selling event. I am still wrangling with the question on whether I should continue with the business on my own, or look for a new partner. Happy Totes–what we call our bags, is doing well, sales-wise.

In terms of romance I have nothing to report. Because my interest in it is still, for the most part, in stasis. My Cambodian ex–now married, still thinks we are together and I don’t contradict him. But other than that, nothing.

Nevertheless, I am marking the end of 2013 on a positive note. This year has been particularly bad for the many people who were affected by the earthquake, typhoon, and other disasters and my heart goes out to them. But for me, this year had been fruitful in many ways and I am looking forward to the new year and the new things that it will bring to me.

Happy new year to all of us! May the new year be kind to us!

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on December 31, 2013, in events, journal and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

