How well do you sleep?


I started having trouble sleeping when I turned twelve, I think. I’d have difficulty falling asleep, or sometimes I would wake up many times in the night. I think I compensated for this by sleeping on the half-hour drive to and from school. This became useful when I went to college because it helped me in those nights spent studying and later, going out with friends.

I never needed more than 6 hours of sleep. When I was depressed, I would spend the night awake and the next day locked in my room, sleeping for more than 12 hours. This went on for quite a while. Now that my psychological and emotional equilibrium has returned, my sleep has somewhat stabilized as well, except for a few nights when insomnia visits me without any invitation and notice. I didn’t realize how sleep deprivation affects us in a negative way.

I read this article from The Huffington Post which showed the negative effects of sleep deprivation. It was like I was looking in the mirror when I read the infographic. The immediate effects included, obviously, looking and feeling like sh*t, having the tendency to eat more, focus and memory problems, obesity and diabetes, even sperm count decrease!

SleepDeprivation_0

I’m not sure how long it will take to undo the damages that sleep deprivation has caused me. I can only make sure that I don’t stray away from this path to health that I’m trying my best to follow.

You can read the full story HERE.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on January 16, 2014, in journal and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

