Writer-ly Stuff


Last Tuesday I missed the awarding ceremony of the Philippine Board on Books for Young People (PBBY) because of a nasty migraine episode. I’m one of three who received an Honorable Mention award for my story “Reyna Elena”. The ceremony was originally set for July 15 but was postponed due to typhoon Glenda.

my invite

my invite

 

I was resigned to having a bad day but the arrival of a parcel gave me an unexpected pleasure. My copy of “Verses Typhoon Yolanda” finally arrived!

the book

the book

I immediately opened it to see my poem. I couldn’t believe how excited I felt. It almost felt like the first time I saw my name on a printed page. That would be in the Philippines Free Press Magazine, back in 1995.

my poem

my poem

Verses Typhoon Yolanda is still available at Lulu.com. Proceeds will go to post-Haiyan/ Yolanda relief and rehabilitation in the Philippines. If you’re a lover of poetry and charity, get your copy now.

about me

about me

You can also find related articles on the book HERE and HERE.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on July 24, 2014, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

