It’s never too late to start reading


I learned how to read and write at an early age. My mother taught me to write script before I started school while my grandmother started me on reading through newspapers and magazines around the house. I remember entertaining myself on long road trips by reading the billboards and street signs out loud. When I became a high school freshman at age 11, the library became my refuge from high school social life, which I was not good at. I also remember the slightly raised eyebrow of my teacher in Literature when I submitted a book report on “Wuthering Heights” during the first grading of my freshman year.

I remain an avid reader to this day, my growing pile of un-read books notwithstanding. However, I am alarmed that this love of reading is not shared by my younger cousins. Of course, one can argue that kids these days have more means of entertaining themselves due to the internet and all its attendant consequences, plus the plethora of gadgets that are within their reach. But I know there are other kids who are into reading in spite of having access to gadgets and the internet.

My old friend’s eldest daughter (and my god-child) reads and collects pre-owned books and is an active consumer of the works in WattPad. Another friend’s daughter (yes, another god-child) is a voracious reader and all the better for it because her mind is so well-rounded we old guys can converse with her as an equal. And having started Law School, in a few years she might even surpass us.

One of my younger cousins, who is a senior taking up Legal Management (still my god-child), has an alarmingly low level of interest in reading. Our grandfather previously gave him a stack of books to read but he didn’t read them. I wouldn’t read those books too, not only because they were yellowed, dusty, and musty but because they didn’t appeal to his age and interest. I got marginally successful by getting him to read graphic novels. He now knows more than I do when it comes to all things “The Walking Dead”.

The next step is for me to get him to read the classics. And during my trip to Booksale last week, I found the right books for him to read and appreciate the classics but in a manner that will appeal to him.

classics-in-comics-02

 

I found this comic book adaptation of the Ray Bradbury horror-fantasy classic “Something Wicked This Way Comes”. I think he will like it because of the rich illustrations (in black and white) and the fact that the heroes of the story are two teenagers.

classics-in-comics-01

 

The other comic adaptation is the science-fiction-horror classic “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley. Like the previous book, this is richly illustrated and the story has been told in a straight-forward manner.

I will give these to him tomorrow, his birthday. After these, I hope to get him started in reading “real” books.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on August 20, 2014, in journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

