Post-birthday celebration


I spent most of my birthday in bed because I was having the “blues” days before that. This emotional malaise gradually dissipated in the days after and it left me feeling disappointed for not being able to celebrate my birthday.

Fortunately I can count on my college friends to cheer me up. These days, because of our hectic family and professional lives, our meet-ups have been reduced to about 4 times a year, usually to mark someone’s birthday. We’d have a long lunch and coffee, which will be spent on catching up on each other’s lives and other things.

This time is no different. We decided to meet in SM Marikina, the mallΒ that is closest to most of us, even if it meant a long trip for some of us who are from Manila. We decided on Vikings, largely because we wanted to be eat where we can’t be accused of lingering too long. Personally I agreed with the decision so that I would have plenty of food choices. By exercising portion control, I could stick to my diet, enjoy my meal, and not drag anybody down with my own food restrictions.

2014 BDAY KITAKITS

We all had a great time eating and catching up. Me? I’m glad to have been able to celebrate my birthday will people I actually like and love. I was, is, happy and thankful for the friendship and the company.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on August 25, 2014, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

