Becoming Angela Bennett


Today I finally received the hand-bound leather journals I ordered from Alunsina. I opened the parcel excitedly and loved both journals at first sight then was quickly disappointed when I realized that the delivery was incomplete. I ordered a canvas pouch for each journal and said pouches were nowhere in sight. I quickly emailed and SMS’d them to tell them they missed something in my delivery. Thankfully I received a prompt apology and a message that the pouches will be sent right away.

buy-online-02

Lately I’ve been buying a considerable amount of things local on-line shops. Just recently, I discovered Undertow books through a fellow blogger and I made my first order of books by my favorite writers and some interesting ones. Shipping is free if the cost of your order is more than a thousand bucks so I ordered 5 books. The prices are slightly higher than Booksale but you are spared from sifting through pilesΒ of inferior books that comprise the majority at Booksale’s shops. When I buy secondhand books, I usually go for the hardbound books instead of the paperbacks. Three of my purchases from Undertow were hardbound books. There’s another online used-book shop that I want to try. I just need to complete my order from them.

buy-online-01

On-line shopping is something that I was hesitant to do before because of the dangers of fraud and not being satisfied with the delivered product. In Cambodia, I shopped for books, CDs, and other stuff from Amazon because that time the products I were buying were not available there. But it’s not the case here in Manila, where you can get almost anything in shops or at the mall. The problem for me is the act of going out. Traffic is always monstrous. And these days, the rains, which is not a problem per se but we all know that rains usually now result in flooding, which makes the traffic worse. So for me, unless it’s work-related or something really important, I won’t leave the house.

Okay, I will admit that the title is a bit of exaggeration. I’m not even close to becoming like Angela Bennett–for those who don’t know, the character Sandra Bullock played in the forgettable-but-loved-by-many-people-I-know “The Net” (1995). I am nowhere near her isolated existence. My slight aversion to going out is most likely a remnant of my depression. When I first arrived in Manila on September 2010, I didn’t go out of the house for 10 weeks. Now IΒ have real, practical reasons for feeling this way, which I have described in the previous paragraph.

There are other things I do on-line now, such as manage my bank account and pay my mobile phone bills. Happy Totes, a small business I developed with a friend, sells its products through its Facebook page. I’m just curious where my growing preference for on-line shopping will take me. The technology grows as I write these words. More people are selling on-line. It’s quite exciting.

I just hope I don’t turn into this tech savvy hermit who’s immersed in the internet instead of living a real life.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 3, 2014, in journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

