Surprises in the garden


I have a few gardening tasks that I’ve been delaying because I’m busy wrapping up a project but once my schedule permits it (next week) I will do them in one fell swoop. This morning, as I was inspecting the few plants that comprise my small garden, I noticed that the little green bud I spotted weeks ago on an orchid I had almost given up for dead had grown considerably–sprouting leaves and roots as it jutted precariously from the cane.

091114-02

the keiki

Back in January, it was the biggest orchid from the batch that my Aunt brought me from her home province of Sorsogon. However, in just a few weeks, the leaves dried out one by one until only the cane remained. But I continued to water it even if another part of me wanted to throw it away and use the pot for another plant.

091114-01

the mother, back in January

And about a couple of weeks ago, I was rewarded for my persistence when the keiki appeared. Said keiki appears to be thriving as well, except for some discoloration on the tips of the leaves. I think it’s getting too much sun. A friend suggested that I transfer it to a shady spot in the garden until the keiki is well established. I did exactly that.

I was surprised for the second time when I was removing the dried leaves that fell on the plants sitting under our old macopa tree. There appeared to be a budding flower spike in my Vanda Lamellata but I wasn’t sure since this particular plant was, in my opinion, still too small to begin flowering yet. I took a photo and posted it in a Facebook group where the other members confirmed that it was indeed a flower spike. Yey! This plant was given to me for free by an orchid seller at Centris, after buying a few pieces from his stall.

091114-03

the flower spike

This reminds me that it’s been months since I went there. I ought to go there again soon.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 11, 2014, in journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

