Scenes from a Mall


Today is the anniversary of probably one of the darkest moments of modern Philippine history. In 1972 then-President Ferdinand Marcos put the entire country under Martial Law in order to extend his tenure as president. It tookΒ many years and countless of lives were lost before his rule ended in 1986. One would think that the country will have a somber remembrance on this day, silently affirming the vow never to let the specter of Martial Law (and the Marcoses) take the country’s reins again. Hmn, not really. When I went to the mallΒ this morning, Martial Law, the Marcoses and their ilk were the last thing on people’s minds. I normally avoid going to the mall on Sundays because of the crowd, which can increase exponentially when there is a mall-wide sale.

poster 2014 BBB-SM-MOA

Today, Sunday, is the last day of a 3-day Big Brands Bazaar event at the SM Mall of Asia. I initially committed to visit on Friday but typhoon Mario sent those plans away with his gusty winds and pouring rain. I tried to go there yesterday but again, I wasn’t confident about the weather. I have no problem with getting rained on, even if I’m half-Gremlin. What I can’t stand about the rain these days is what happens after: heavier-than-usual traffic, flooded streets, and taxi drivers becoming highly selective of passengers. You’d think they’re voting for the new Pope or something.

So anyway, against my better judgment, I found myself in a huge mall, on a Sunday yet, which is the last day of a big sale event. I avoided distractions like the racks of discounted DVDs and endless arrays of food and went straight to the venue of the Bazaar to have a look. Many of my preferred brands were present: Hush Puppies shoes, Terranova, Daniel Hechter, Raybans, and a few celebrity fragrances. But I spent the longest time at Nike’s booth. I was so engrossed examining the shoes that I forgot to take photos. They were selling trainers for 50-70% less the original retail price. I almost bought a pair; only they didn’t have my size so I was a bit disappointed.

2014-BBB-SM-MOA-001

As I made my way out of the Bazaar, I imagined how much more options I would have had if only I showed up yesterday instead of today. There’s a moral lesson here: don’t wait for the last day of a sale event if you want to have more choices. SM should do this event again before the holidays really kick in. I’d make sure not to wait till the last day to come visit.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 21, 2014, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

