It’s that time of the year


The coming of the last quarter of the year is heralded by the start of seemingly endless sales events and trade fairs with the specific intent of making people spend, all capitalizing on the prevailing notion that the Christmas season is all about shopping for gifts and that this season starts on September. Just last week I went to a book fair and a bazaar in one venue. This coming weekend the mall close to where I live will hold a mall-wide 3-day sale. I am not impervious to its allure.

The other day I went to the Negros Trade Fair at the Glorietta Mall. I went because of one reason only: I wanted to buy Turmeric tea for my mother. She extracts juice from Turmeric and mixes it with hot water, which she takes for her joint pain. A friend from Cambodia, affiliated with a group in Bacolod, processes turmeric into powdered form and I’ve been trying to get some for my mother. So she wouldn’t spend a lot of time preparing her tonic. Our mortar and pestle from Romblon is now a ghastly shade of yellow, but I digress. Iida Farms is  one of the participants in this fair so I decided to go.

2014-negros-trade-fair-01

I have looked up the fair’s Facebook page so more or less I knew the stuff that can be found there. And there was a lot. Food and food products, as well as high quality handicrafts, clothing, and even plants. I was initially unimpressed with the first food that I tried so I went and looked for my main target. When I did I also managed to say hi to my friend’s sister, who was there by their booth. Along with the turmeric beverage, I also got some organic coffee beans.

2014-negros-trade-fair-02

I was free to browse after that and so I did. I wanted to buy the crochet Christmas decorations because I loved its elegance. Unfortunately I found the price too steep so I just contented myself with looking how pretty they were. I think I was so mesmerized (and frustrated I wasn’t able to buy them) that I forgot to take photos. Perhaps to make up for this, I went to the food section and bought some local baked goods and snacks: piyaya, biscocho, and pulceras. Thanks to the free taste, I was able to get the taste of that bland paella negra out of my mouth. I wanted to buy tablea but the one I found had only sweetened tablea so I skipped it. I’d been curious about kalkag too so I got a bag of that too. On the way out, I spied some tillandsia and bromeliad that I liked and got a couple for a song (I think).

2014-negros-trade-fair-03

The Negros Trade Fair is at the Glorietta Mall Activity Center till tomorrow, September 28.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on September 27, 2014, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

