Freelancing Nightmare, part 2


Frustrated, I turned to one of my friends and I asked her about SJ. I was shocked to learn what she had to say about him.

04

Another friend chatted me up when he saw my Facebook status and again I was surprised of his low opinion of SJ.

03

This made me more determined to get my professional fee. I sent him a strongly worded message and again SJ’s response is more of the same old sh*t that he’s been giving me.

05

This was followed by this yet another implausible excuse from SJ.

06

At this point I became really angry because I felt he was making a fool out of me with his ridiculous excuses. This exchange of text messages took a turn for the worse, wherein SJ finally showed me his true colors–he even had the nerve to threaten me with legal action (the nerve!) and in the end resorted to name calling when he got cornered.

07

After this, I was ready for battle but my close friends prevailed upon me not to take any action against SJ. That I needn’t stoop to his level. That SJ isn’t definitely worth it. I began to see their point of view and chose to remain quiet. With his actions, SJ only proved to me that his character isn’t really worth that much. His word equally so. Only ten thousand pesos to be exact.

Of course, the lessons from this terrible experience march inside my head–most of which I already know. Never start work without a contract and/ or down payment. Be clear on the job description/ scope of work. And so on. For me, my mistake was trusting someone I thought I knew, who turned out to have a questionable character. Someone has told me before that trust doesn’t trump a clear contract. This experience has shown me exactly that.

By the way, this is the last message I received from SJ. I didn’t bother to respond to this particular message. I figured if he really intended to pay me, he’d just deposit the money in my bank account, the details of which he already knows, then tell me afterwards.

08

And now, 6 weeks after this text message, SJ hasn’t deposited a single centavo into my account. So there.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on November 6, 2014, in journal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

