Get-togethers


This season, traffic was particularly bad in the city that it was traumatizing to just venture out. It must account for my lessened desire to go out and see people. Two of these annual gatherings with friendsΒ didn’t push through for various reasons other than the worsening traffic conditions. But see people I did. I just had to prioritize the meetings that were really really important. Last December 20 I met with the other members of our fledgling NGO for a year-end meeting and Christmas lunch. I had a prior meeting with a client in Quezon City and the drive to Manila was so terrible that we were very hungry by the time we reached the venue. In my somewhat harried state I failed to take any photos of us who were in attendance.

We agreed on a potluck lunch and after the meeting we did probably the most energetic exchange of gifts in recent memory. We were laughing so hard by the time we finally held our gifts.Β I got a nice marble bowl where I can put my keys and other what-not. Earlier a client gave me a big pack of tea bags that make great milk tea.

COB-2014-12-28

Last Saturday I went to Centris to meet the friends I made in my brief return to TV writing. We all met at the training workshop under Ricky Lee and we became closer because we were put to work withinΒ one unit in the network. Although among the 7 of us, only one remained with the network, again for various reasons. One of us passed away last year. The one who stayed with the network didn’t make it because her dear aunt died a day ago. So it was just us survivors who met for a long, relaxed lunch and coffee, plus longer chatting and catching up.

In our exchange of gifts I got a bunch of poetry books and some wonderful bread.

This will probably be my last get-together for the year. In three weeks a friend who migrated to Canada 4 years ago will return for a quick holiday and I will definitely see her.

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on December 28, 2014, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

