So it ends, so it begins


The last weeks of 2014 have been particularly busy for me as I tried to juggle many responsibilities–to my work, to the NGO that I co-founded, to my family, and to my friends, among others. I felt like I was cramming for an important exam.

In fact, yesterday I planned to clean my room, as I usually do as the new year comes. But finishing a work task that I have been procrastinating about took most of the day so I was only able to start cleaning my room at around 9PM. Since this was a full-on spring cleaning that happens 3 or 4 times a year only, I didn’t finish until 2AM. When I went downstairs my mother and aunt were also up. We had a few laughs over coffee before I went to bed but I managed to sleep for just about 5 hours.

In between my working period yesterday, I walked around our yard and looked at our old macopa (rose apple) tree. This tree is older than I am and I can’t explain clearly but I’m quite fond of it. We had just harvested its first batch of fruits and I happily noted that its branches were once again filled with its frilly flowers. In the last few years, its fruiting pattern have been threatened by the erratic weather. The protracted rainy (and typhoon) season washed away its flowers and buds, and those that survived were not as sweet as they normally were.

However, this year, our old tree seemed able to adapt. Her buds survived the protracted rains and developed into sweet fruits that I enjoyed with my family.

I found this quite remarkable. Life really finds a way. It made me think of this poem, which I am sharing here. The poem I attached is quite old as well, but its themes of recovery/ rejuvenation/ resurrection still resonates today, as the present year is ending and a new one is about to begin. 

Happy new year, dear reader!

2014-RESURRECTION

 

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on December 31, 2014, in events, journal, poetics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

