Last Night


New Year’s eve used to be the biggest holiday in the household of my mother’s side of the family. My mother has a lot of siblings and the custom was Christmas would be spent with their respective families while New Year’s was spent with my grandmother. This is why I grew up spending Christmas with my paternal grandparents in Candaba, Pampanga and New Year’s eve in Tondo.

However, this custom was not always followed: my uncles and aunts went abroad, families got busier so over the years the numbers that spent New Year’s eve in the old house dwindled. This was compounded by my grandmother’s death in 2005. She was the proverbial rope that tied my mother and her siblings together so after her death, some didn’t see fit to travel all the way here to spend New Year’s eve.

This year, however, was record-breaking because there were only three of us in the clunky old house to ring in the new year. Last year my Uncle and his family spent new year’s eve with us but this year they weren’t able to make it due to various reasons. They are coming to the house today actually. But last night, my mother, my aunt, and I carried out our New Year’s eve rituals and we had a lot of fun in the process. We didn’t let the very small turn-out ruin the evening. So we ate our traditional food, lit a lot of fireworks and had a fun-filled evening.

Here’s the run-down, in pictures:

COB-20150101-001

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on January 1, 2015, in events, journal and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

