Fools Together


Aside from “Kubot”, the other film I watched in the just-concluded MMFF was “English Only, Please”. I was very selective in watching movies this time because I had a huge feeling the other blockbuster-hit movies would just prove to be a complete waste of my time and money. I’m very glad to say that these two movies delighted me immensely, for varying reasons of course.

poster English Only Please

I was raring to write a glowing review of “English Only, Please” because it was a perfect little piece of film. It wasn’t trailblazing as a romantic comedy but it made use of the conventional elements of the genre in such a refreshing way and even managed to turn on its head the portrayals of men and women in similar movies. I can even forgive the somewhat clumsy placement of Dunkin Donuts because everything else was a delight. The characters were relatable, the situations plausible, and the performances just so adorable. For the first time, I looked at Derek Ramsay without thinking of his abs and the rest of his muscular body. This was the first time I saw Jennylyn Mercado and it made me wonder why she isn’t a bigger star. Also, plus points for not insulting the intelligence of the audience.

I cannot say anything more. I enjoyed the movie so much it inspired me to write a love-themed poem for the first time in years! Well, the movie was a clear and obvious inspiration, as you will find out if you read it. It’s a poem in two voices, and here it is.

2015-FOOLS-TOGETHER

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on January 8, 2015, in journal, poetics, review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

