On preloved books, conspiracies, and crafting


Whenever I am in my neighborhood mall, I usually stop by Booksale and browse for a few minutes. Sometimes these minutes lead to a discovery and Β purchase of books that I was either looking for or genuinely liked. Recently however, I’d been finding nothing in their stacks.

This made me think of an on-line conversation I had with a friend, on the proliferation of on-line sellers of secondhand books. I’ve bought books from on-line sellers. True, their prices are a bit higher than Booksale but their selections are better. After my favorite on-line seller closed shop and a bad experience with another, I decided to stop buying from them in the mean time.

My friend overheard a conversation where she learned that some on-line sellers collude with Booksale staff so that they have exclusive access to popular titles and newer books for their stocks. Well, these days apparently, it’s not enough to befriend a Booksale staff to get dibs on new stocks.

In my last stop by Booksale, my purchases were of the holiday and crafty mode. I got the two Christmas-themed craft books for 65 pesos each while the book on applique (with some Christmas ideas as well) for a measly 35 pesos. On average, the books are about 15 years old but I didn’t mind. After all, the old can be made new again, right? Besides, it’s already October, the second month of the Christmas season in the Philippines!

2015-10-01

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on October 1, 2015, in journal and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

