Recently seen movie: Goosebumps


I was in my final year at university when the first Goosebumps book came out. I remember seeing it at a bookshop, reading its blurb and deciding not to buy it. I love the horror genre, be it on books or films or TV shows. Goosebumps targeted older children so it didn’t seem to take horror seriously–compared to Stephen King and Clive Barker–so I passed it by. I also found the TV show a bit silly and goofy.

poster-goosebumps-movie

So what made me want the Goosebumps movie? Well, the trailer was interesting. And at my age, I welcome a bit of silliness in my life. Then there’s Jack Black.

Even if Jack Black wasn’t his usual bombastic self in this movie (he was grumpy and sinister-looking, in fact), I still enjoyed his performance here.

The CG monsters were very well done; I especially liked the gnomes, the poodle, and the giant praying mantis. The dummy was also very creepy. Story-wise, it’s fairly simple and straight-forward, with all loose ends neatly tied up in the end. And opened just a wee bit for a sequel.

Also, the lead actor caught my eye: 19-year-old Dylan Minnette. I’ve seen him as guest in many TV shows like Law & Order: SVU and Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.; he was also the bully in “Let Me In”. In his previous appearances, Dylan has always played precocious kids who conceal a bit of creepiness inside them. Quite the opposite in this movie. I do not normally fawn over teenagers (talk about creepy) but I seriously think that in five years or so (and if he doesn’t get into drugs or other nasty habits), he will be leading man material.

actor-goosebumps-dylan-minnette

About the pensive poet

development worker. kasuyo. bugtong na anak. retired drag queen. kalaguyo. kaibigan. future carpenter, bread-maker, or bar-tender. feeling manunulat at makata. borderline obsessive-compulsive. control freak. book worm. isnabero. mahiyain. astang cineaste. aspiring photographer.

Posted on November 11, 2015, in journal, review and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

